2016 Calendar of Events

Facebook Twitter More... 

2016 Calendar of Events

Union County Museum

117 South Appleknocker Street, Cobden, Illinois

Regular Museum Hours:  Saturday and Sunday, 1:00-5:00 p.m.


 Saturday, October 8, Union County Colorfest.  Activities planned in Cobden.  The Museum and shop will conduct extended hours:  10a.m.-5p.m. 

 Annual Christmas Shoppe.  Dates: Sat. Nov. 19; Sun., Nov. 20; Fri., Nov. 25 (8am-4pm); Sat., Nov. 26; Sun., Nov. 27; Sat., Dec. 3; Sun., Dec. 4; Sat., Dec. 10; Sun. Dec. 11; Sat., Dec. 17.  Annual event features Christmas decorations and gifts at reasonable prices.  Hours for Saturday are 8a.m.-4p.m. and for Sunday are 1-4 p.m.  Museum will temporarily close for the winter after the bazaar.

 Saturday, December 3. Christmas in the Village.  Open houses and holiday activities.


Check local publications (Gazette-Democrat, Monday’s Pub, and Southern Illinoisan)

for the latest on programs and other events sponsored by the Historical Society or

go to our webpage at www.unioncountyilmuseum.com


All Events at the Union County Museum are free and open to the public.  No Admission charge.

Operated by the Union County Historical & Genealogy Society, 618/893-2865.


The General Store is usually in operation when the museum is normally open.  This depends on if we have enough volunteers to open both the museum and the store.  Otherwise please use the above dates for official openings of the General Store.