2015 Calendar of Events

Facebook Twitter More... 

2015 Calendar of Events

Union County Museum

117 South Appleknocker Street, Cobden, Illinois

Regular Museum Hours:  Saturday and Sunday, 1:00-5:00 p.m.



Saturday, September 12, Wilson Reception


A reception to honor Dan Wilson of Wolf Lake for his years of commitment to historic preservation through photographs is being held Saturday, September 12 from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. at the Union County Museum in Cobden.

The Union County Historical and Genealogy Society is sponsoring the event.

Over 100 photos from his extensive collection are now on exhibit in the Museum including the 1943 flood, farming, Wolf Lake area businesses, the Rendleman family and one room school photos from Sublette, Buncombe (Jackson County), Wolf Lake and others.

One of the amazing things about the Wilson collection is the fact that most of the people in the photos are identified.

The public is invited and admission is free.  For more information call the Museum at 893-2865 or 893-2067.



Saturday, October 3, Cobden Fall Fest Car Show.  Southern Counties Auto Unlimited Car Show and other activities.  Cobden Fall Community Yard Sale Day held.  The Museum and shop will conduct extended hours: 8a.m.-5p.m.


Saturday, October 10, Union County Colorfest.  Activities planned in downtown Cobden.  The Museum and shop will conduct extended hours:  9a.m.-5p.m. 


Annual Christmas Bazaar.  Dates: Sat. Nov. 21; Sun., Nov. 22; Fri., Nov. 27 (8am-4pm); Sat., Nov. 28; Sun., Nov. 29; Sat., Dec. 5; Sun., Dec. 6; Sat., Dec. 12; Sun. Dec. 13; Sat., Dec. 19.  Annual event features Christmas decorations and gifts at reasonable prices.  Hours for Saturday are 8a.m.-4p.m. and for Sunday are 1-4 p.m.  Museum will close for the winter after the bazaar.


Saturday, December 5. Christmas in the Village.  Open houses and holiday activities.



Check local publications (Gazette-Democrat, Monday’s Pub, and Southern Illinoisan)

for the latest on programs and other events sponsored by the Historical Society or

go to our webpage at www.unioncountyilmuseum.com


All Events at the Union County Museum are free and open to the public.  No Admission charge.

Operated by the Union County Historical & Genealogy Society, 618/893-2865.


The General Store is usually in operation when the museum is normally open.  This depends on if we have enough volunteers to open both the museum and the store.  Otherwise please use the above dates for official openings of the General Store.